Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We are closing early at 4pm on Wednesday 13 December for our staff Christmas party.

Sheila M. Nelson's Baroque Violinist

A superb collection of intermediate pieces for violin and keyboard

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

An original collection of pieces for violin and keyboard. Intermediate standard. Specially chosen by distinguished string teacher Sheila Nelson. Each piece features a particular aspect of baroque technique and includes sound advice from 18th century writers, making this a wonderful introduction to all aspects of baroque technique and style. Works by J. S. Bach, Corelli, Handel, Purcell, Telemann, Vivaldi and many others. Unaccompanied pieces and duets also included. The book to stimulate a life-long interest in the wonderful diversity of baroque music. The edition is part of the ABRSM syllabus (grade 3,5).

Difficulty guide: 4
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Violin (from 2024)
Grades: 4


  • Presto from Sonata for Flute op. 1 no. 9 (Händel)
  • Allemande from "La Royalle" (Hotteterre)
  • Gavotte from "La Meudon" (Hotteterre)
  • Largo & Allegro from Sonata in g major (Telemann)
  • Largo from Winter/The Four Seasons (Vivaldi)
  • Preludio & Allemanda from Sonata in e minor, op. 5 no. 8 (Corelli)
  • Giga found in Prelleur's Modern Music-Master, 1731 (Mascitti)
  • Sicilian & Allegro from Sonata in a minor, op. 4 no. 1 (Stanley)
  • Slow Movement from Canonic Sonata No. 4 (Telemann)
  • Allegro from Sonata in b minor (Bach)
  • Rondo for Two Violins (Locatelli)
  • Siciliana (Vodicka)
  • Sarabande & Allegro from Sonata in d, op. 1 no. 19 (Leclair)
  • Giga from Sonata Accademica in e minor op. 2 no. 3 (Verancini)
  • Aria with Five Variations from Sonata in d minor, op. 1 no. 1 (Gibbs)
  • Largo & Allegro from Sonata in g minor (Purcell)
  • Bouree 1 from Cello Suite No. 4 (J. S. Bach, arr. S. M. N.)

Item Details

Category: Violin Albums & Collections
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Publisher's reference: BH 1000668
Our Stock Code: 1189995
Media Type: Paperback (74 pages [score])