Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Baroque Flute Pieces for Flute and Piano, Vol 5

Edited by Richard Jones
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

This five-volume graded anthology acts as an introduction to the flute music of the early- and mid-eighteenth century. All important composers of flute music of the period are represented, starting with the French pioneers La Barre and Hotteterre, and culminating in the great Germans Handel and Bach. Texts faithfully follow the original sources, any editorial additions being carefully differentiated as such. These marks, which include ornament realizations and breathing suggestions, together with the editorial notes that accompany each piece, are designed to help the progressing flautist to cultivate an authentic playing style. In addition, useful information is given about the composers represented and about the pieces selected and the sources from which they are drawn. A separate continuo part is provided, allowing the bass line to be doubled on cello or viola da gamba, in accordance with standard continuo practice. This part, in which the bass is figured, may also be used by keyboard players who wish to improvise their own accompaniment.

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Flute (from 2022)
Grades: 8


  • Sarabande from 'Suite No.3 in E minor' - (La Barre)
  • Capriccio in G, from 'Sonata in G minor, TWV 41:g5' - (Telemann)
  • Vivace from 'Sonata in G minor, TWV 41:g5' - (Telemann)
  • Adagio and Vivace from 'Sonata in E minor Op.1 No. 6' - (Leclair)
  • Andante from 'Sonata in B flat, Op.2 No.3' - (Locatelli)
  • Vivace and Largo poco andante from 'Sonata in E minor, Op.3 No.3' - (Blavet)
  • Allegro assai from 'Sonata in E minor Op.5, No.5' - (Hasse)
  • Adagio ma non tanto and Allegro from 'Sonata in E, BWV 1035' - (JS Bach)

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
  • Part 3: Basso continuo
Category: Accompanied Classical Flute Albums
Publisher: ABRSM Publishing
Publisher's reference: 9781854727145
Volume 5 in the Baroque Flute Pieces series
Our Stock Code: 1015355
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (31 pages [score])

20% off Wonderful Winds Publications20% off Wonderful Winds Publications