Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Aus Liebe will mein Heiland sterben [4 Flutes]

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Highly recommended

From the Publisher

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750) composed St. Matthew’s Passion, BWV 244, in the 1720s and it is believed that the first performance took place on April 11, 1727 at the St. Thomas Church in Leipzig. The music arranged here for Flute Quartet is the heart-wrenching aria, “Aus Liebe will mein Heiland sterben,” extracted from the middle of the second part of the work. To set the scene, the aria comes after Jesus has been presented to the multitudes in a fast a furious, rowdy double orchestra and choir exclamation; and is condemned to death by crucifixion. Out of this outcry, the solitary flautist and soprano singer reflect on the question of sin, judgement and punishment. In this most hauntingly vulnerable aria, Bach manages to find both beauty and fragility to reflect upon this question. Using the parts provided, this arrangement can be performed as either a quartet with 3 C Flutes and Alto Flute, or as a quartet with 3 Alto Flutes and Bass Flute. For the latter, the Alto Flutes are to play the original C Flute parts, and the Bass Flute plays the supplemental part provided.

Finalist: NFA Newly Published Music Awards 2020

Performance duration (approx): 5'

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute or Alto Flute
  • Part 2: Flute Alto Flute
  • Part 3: Flute Alto Flute
  • Part 4: Alto Flute Bass Flute
Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four Mixed Flutes
Publisher: ALRY Publications
Publisher's reference: FQ78
Our Stock Code: 1464573
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (7 pages [score])