Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Aulos for Flute and Piano

Solo Flute and Piano Reduction

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Interesting, worth a look

From the Publisher

Commissioned by flutist John Solum and written in 1967, Aulos was premiered in 1971 by the Indiana University Chamber Orchestra, with John Solum acting as the soloist and Wolfgang Vaccano conducting. The work derives its name from the eponymous ancient Greek instrument, which was double-reeded and contained a two-piece pipe and finger holes. One piece contained a bag that allowed for a continuous sound, making it more akin to bagpipes than to the modern-day flute, while the other piece acted independently of the first. In Kay’s work, the texture of the supporting instruments act as the supporting, yet highly reactive drone, while the flute acts as the melodic piece. Originally scored for solo flute, 2 horns, percussion, and strings, the piano reduction of this acclaimed, haunting work has been made available for the first time through this new edition.

Winner: NFA Newly Pulbished Music Awards 2024

Our Description

Includes improvisation passages


Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: 20th Century Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Publisher's reference: PCB112
Our Stock Code: 1665680
Media Type: Paperback (24 pages [score])

20% off selected Schott Publications20% off selected Schott Publications