Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Arrival of the Queen of Sheba for Flute Choir

"Sinfonia" on the 3rd Act of the Oratorio "Solomon" HWV 67

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“A good arrangement of a classic.”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This intelligent arrangement of the Queen of Sheba is just as exhilarating as the original. All the parts are well-written and interesting to play, with the larger flutes driving the musical direction throughout. Making use of Handel's 'concerto grosso' format, there is plenty of scope for soloists to shine which is great if you are using large mixed ability forces. This would make a wonderful opening to any concert and, if used as a finale, will send everyone home happy.

From the Publisher

The 'Arrival of the Queen of Sheba' is a piece from Georg Friedrich Handel's oratorio "Solomon", written in 1748 and performed for the first time on March 17, 1749. The arrangements presented here can be performed both by a flute orchestra and a quartet including solo instruments. When using the quartet version, the orchestration "3 flutes and bass flute" should be given preference over the other instrumentations ("3 flutes and alto flute" or "4 flutes"), because it sounds better and does not interfere with Handel's conduct of voices.

Performance duration (approx): 4'

Difficulty guide: 6-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Flute
  • Part 5: Alto Flute
  • Part 6: Bass Flute
  • Part 7 (Optional): Double Bass
Category: Flute Choir Music: 6 Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Zimmermann Frankfurt
Publisher's reference: ZM32710
Our Stock Code: 1000924
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts

20% off Theodore Presser music20% off Theodore Presser music