Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Allegro Rustico & Sounds of the Forest for Flute and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Wonderful music!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

Here are two lovely pieces by the Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina which are a joy to play! Allegro Rustico dances along at a rapid pace and with plenty of notes in both parts. Fluctuating between the jaunty triplet figure and stronger rhythms, the work becomes darker and more powerful before the enigmatic ending. Sounds of the Forest is an altogether different and happer piece with both instruments displaying textures that take the listener straight to the forest. This is wonderful music by one of the best female composers to have written for the flute - we are lucky!

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Allegro Rustico 5 minutes
  • Sounds of the Forest 4 minutes

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Contemporary Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Sikorski Music Publishers
Publisher's reference: SIK0814
Our Stock Code: 998710
Media Type: Paperback

20% off Barenreiter20% off Barenreiter

15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus

The Sir James Galway Special SelectionThe Sir James Galway Special Selection