Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Our showroom is now open for instrument trials by appointment - Book an Appointment

Allegro Energico e Passionato from Symphony No. 4 for Flute Choir

  • Highly recommended
  • Great for teachers

From the Publisher

The Symphony No. 4 of Johannes Brahms was his final symphony, composed in 1884. The Allegro energico e passionato (4th movement), arranged here for flute choir, is in the form of a chaconne (actually a passacaglia). Brahms adapted the theme from the closing movement of Johann Sebastian Bach's cantata "Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich" (BWV 150). The flute orchestra version is arranged for six C flute parts, two alto flutes, two bass flutes and a contrabass flute. Increasing the number of players in each section will give added depth to the full and rich sound of this arrangement.

Performance duration (approx): 11'

Difficulty guide: 7-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Flute
  • Part 5: Flute
  • Part 6: Flute
  • Part 7: Alto Flute
  • Part 8: Alto Flute
  • Part 9: Bass Flute
  • Part 10: Bass Flute
  • Part 11: Contrabass Flute
Category: Flute Orchestra Music
Publisher: Megido Publications
Publisher's reference: MEG118
Our Stock Code: 1467307
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (16 pages [score])