Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Allegro Cantabile from Organ Symphony No.5 in F minor, Op42/1

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The fifth organ symphony by Charles-Marie Widor is one of Widor's second period. It was known mainly for the famous Toccata at the end of the symphony.Their second movement, the Allegro cantabile, is designed in ABA form. In the frame parts a catchy cantilene, accompanied by chord breaks, determines the musical course. So it is obvious to occupy this beautiful soloist-led melody with a solo instrument.Through these contrasts in the organ, these sections of the play form a delightful dialogue full of counterpoint. The middle part is more homophonic.To the choral-like movement of the organ the objections of the solo instrument form a distinct contrast and lead back into the repetition of the A-part. (Heinz-Peter Kortmann)

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Organ
Category: Music for Flute and Organ
Publisher: Edition Dohr
Publisher's reference: DOHR16491
Our Stock Code: 1404845
Media Type: Paperback (23 pages [score])