Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Adagio and Scherzo for Flute Quartet, Op. 77

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • New
  • Award-winning product
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“A lovely flute quartet”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This is an unashamedly romantic flute quartet. The Adagio is sumptuous with a cantabile and rather soulful melody, and plenty of interest in the accompanying parts. The rhythmically strong Scherzo is complex in texture, and although there are no real technical difficulties to conquer, keeping the ensemble together at a fast pace is the skill here. The trio is completely different, slower and with more focus on the first flute. The Scherzo return has some twist and turns before ending strongly. This is a substantial piece which will tax stamina and concentration but it's wonderful to play and audiences love it!

From the Publisher

This newly-engraved score and parts of the Adagio and Scherzo, Op. 77 by Belgian composer Adolphe-Francois Wouters for Four C Flutes was created with a return to the Maison Beethoven à Bruxelles edition, published in the latter half of the 19th century.

Winner: NFA Newly Published Music Awards 2024

Performance duration (approx): 11'

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Flute
Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four C Flutes
Publisher: ALRY Publications
Publisher's reference: FQ100
Our Stock Code: 1684810
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts

20% off Wonderful Winds Publications20% off Wonderful Winds Publications