Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We remain open for video consultations and home trials. Book a Video Consultation
Latest service update - click here


A Moorside Suite


From the Publisher

Gustav Holst’s Moorside Suite was the first significant twentieth century work composed specifically for brass band. It was commissioned for the 1928 National Brass Band Championships, and Holst was eager to explore the possibilities of the medium, which he found less restrictive than the military band (for which he had already written his Suites in E flat and F). The suite has three movements, and upon a first listen, one hears a noticeable sophistication that is lacking in the military suites. The first movement seems almost reserved in its impact. The rhythm darts about playing with various canons, leaving the listener almost trapped in an intellectual game of sorts. The rising fifth of the main theme makes it immediately distinctive, and is used throughout the movement. The second movement, the “Nocturne,” is completely at peace. Flowing solos alternate between chorale like passages which eventually reach a fortissimo climax before falling away, back to the falling sixth motif heard at the opening of the movement. The final movement, entitled ‘March’ is in turns triumphant and threatening. Rising fanfares reminiscent of the opening movement call out at the start, and are used throughout as a linking device. There is a pesante, minor key march, then fanfare sections, and a quieter, trio like section. These three themes are developed and worked until the final major key transformation leads us to a big finish.


  1. Scherzo
  2. Nocturne
  3. March

Item Details


  • Part 1 (Optional): Soprillo Saxophone
  • Part 2 (Optional): Sopranino Saxophone
  • Part 3: Soprano Saxophone
  • Part 4: Soprano Saxophone
  • Part 5: Soprano Saxophone
  • Part 6: Alto Saxophone
  • Part 7: Alto Saxophone
  • Part 8: Alto Saxophone
  • Part 9: Tenor Saxophone
  • Part 10: Tenor Saxophone
  • Part 11: Tenor Saxophone
  • Part 12: Baritone Saxophone
  • Part 13: Baritone Saxophone
  • Part 14: Baritone Saxophone
  • Part 15 (Optional): Bass Saxophone
  • Part 16 (Optional): Contrabass Saxophone
Category: Saxophone Choir (5+ Saxes)
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM676
Our Stock Code: 1413281
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts