Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Our showroom is now open for instrument trials by appointment - Book an Appointment

Six Sonatas for Flute and Basso Continuo, Op1, Vol 1

  • Staff Pick
  • Editor's Choice

Staff Pick

“Feel-good music!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member -

These sonatas are utterly delightful! Each one is brim full of charm and youthful exuberance and you will be cheered each time you play them. Feel-good music of the highest order!

Our Description

In 1756 - at the age of 16 - Anna Bon made herself heard of for the first time with the publication of the six sonatas for flute op. 1. This first volume comprises the sonatas one to three from the op. 1. Each of them is in three movements: a fast centre movement is framed by a slow introduction and a slow closing movement. This formal pattern shows more German than Italian influence. Stylistically, the sonatas are best perhaps comparable to works by J. J. Quantz and C. Ph. E. Bach, musicians at the Prussian court of Friedrich the Great, where Anna Bon stayed as a child. Medium difficulty.

Difficulty guide: 6-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Sonata No 1 in C major
  • Sonata No 2 in F major
  • Sonata No 3 in B flat major

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Basso continuo
Category: Baroque Flute and Continuo Music
Publisher: Furore Verlag
Publisher's reference: FUE4690
Our Stock Code: 931137
Media Type: Paperback (27 pages [score])