Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

2 Sonatas for Treble Recorder and Basso Continuo

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The sonatas published here for the first time, originate from a manuscript1) that – apart from one exception – comprises works for treble recorder. Most of them nevertheless were intended for violin and have been arranged accordingly.2)

If one examines the draft, one has the impression that the music was written rather hurriedly (several writers have been at work here). This was probably due to some enthusiast of chamber music for recorder whose sudden huge demand for this music had to be met quickly.

Because of the numerous errors of the copyists, presumably resulting from hasty work, the editor has abstained from a commentary.3) Interested performers are referred to the facsimile edition obtainable from SPES, Florence.

The editor has adapted the accidentals to modern use and has also undertaken the realisation of the sporadically figured bass. Any additions by the editor have been indicated.

Giuseppe Valentini (ca. 1680–1759) was possibly a pupil of Arcangelo Corelli. He wrote operas, oratorios and cantatas as well as works for strings.

No biographical data could be found about Domenico Maria Dreyer (around 1700).

Translation: J. Whybrow

Hamburg, September 1996, Martin Nitz

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Treble Recorder (from 2022)
Grades: 5, 6

Item Details


  • Part 1: Treble Recorder
  • Part 2: Basso continuo
Category: Treble Recorder Repertoire
Publisher: Girolamo Musikverlag
Publisher's reference: G 12.009
Our Stock Code: 1497342
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts

20% off Wonderful Winds Publications20% off Wonderful Winds Publications