Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

12 Melodious Exercises for Descant Recorder

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM exam syllabus

From the Publisher

Universal Edition gives us a cleaned-up version of 12 Melodious Exercises for Descant Recorder, created by the founder of the Dutch school of recorder, Joannes Collette.


  • Legato and portato with expression
  • Interval leaps and triads with single tonguing
  • Difficult rhythm with soft tonguing, slurring and study in tone production
  • Mixed rhythms
  • Combination of different types of tonguing
  • Single tonguing and ornaments
  • Movement of the thumb
  • Legato playing (slurring)
  • Combination of different types of intervals
  • Broken triads
  • Combination of portato and legato with difficult fingerings
  • Interval leaps, chromatic movement

Item Details


  • Part 1: Descant Recorder
Category: Recorder Study Books
Publisher: Universal Edition
Publisher's reference: UE21515
Our Stock Code: 1495331
Media Type: Paperback