Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Twelve American Preludes for Piano, Op12
Includes Online Audio

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The celebrated Argentinian composer Albert Ginastera (1916-1983) composed this popular series of piano preludes in 1944, which was published by Carl Fischer in two volumes (O3431, O3432) in 1946 and quickly became established as basic repertoire for pianists at the upper-intermediate to advanced level. Now for the first time they are exclusively available in one volume. Each short piece in the collection deals with a particular musical or technical challenge (in the manner of an etude) and several of the pieces are tributes to distinguished fellow composers such as Aaron Copland, Juan José Castro and Hector Villa Lobos. The pieces in this collection are a cornerstone of the modern repertoire.

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Piano (2021 to 2022)
Grades: 7
ABRSM ABRSM Piano (2023 to 2024)
Grades: 7


  1. Triste
  2. Para los acentos (Accents)
  3. Danza criolla (Creole Dance)
  4. Vidala
  5. En el 1er modo pentafono menor (In the First Pentatonic Minor Mode)
  6. Honenaje a Roberto Garcia Morillo (Tribute to Roberto Garcia Morillo)
  7. Para las octavas (Octaves)
  8. Honenaje a Juan Jose Castro (Tribute to Juan Jose Castro)
  9. Honenaje a Aaron Copland (Tribute to Aaron Copland)
  10.  Pastoral (Pastorale)
  11.  Homenaje a Heitor Villa-Lobos (Tribute to Heitor Villa-Lobos)
  12. En el 1er modo pentafono mayor (In the First Pentatonic Major Mode)

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piano
Category: Piano Repertoire
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Publisher's reference: O5471
Our Stock Code: 1464214
Media Type: Paperback (33 pages [score]); includes accompaniment Online Audio

20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music

20% off Kevin Mayhew books20% off Kevin Mayhew books