Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling!

Product Reviews: Thumbport Flute Thumb Rest

£15.00
£12.50 excluding VAT (UK Export and VAT Assisted Purchase price)

Return to Product and Purchase

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 (12 reviews)

5 out of 5 “The ultimate thumb rest”

Reviewed by HARRY, 9 years ago
Verified Purchase

This thumb rest has changed my life. After years of holding the flute as advised in books and articles, and experimenting with other makes of thumb rest, I find this one to be by far the best. Search is over at long last!

12 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Solexa Thumb Port”

Reviewed by Lisa, 11 years ago
Verified Purchase

I am very happy with this product. I am a professional orchestral musician and I started using the thumb port about 5 years ago. It has really helped my right hand to be more free and my pinky is not so stiff anymore. I am able to have better control over the flute as it feels comfortable to hold. I regularly order them for my beginner students as the flute is such an awkward instrument to hold in the beginning. They have all found them very useful.

10 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumbport advantage.”

Reviewed by GEOFFREY, 10 years ago
Verified Purchase

Being new to the flute, I purchased a Thumport hoping it would help me in holding the flute really steady.

It has done this to my absolute satisfaction, and I do not hesitate to recommend this item. It is very nicely made, and fits the flute perfectly.

10 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

4 out of 5 “First experience!”

Reviewed by Ruth, 10 years ago
Verified Purchase

I have recently bought these to use with some of the Primary students I teach. They loved the choice of colours. Many of the students found them helpful and gave a much more secure right thumb position which help with the instruments stability. Not all the students used them - notably those who already had a secure thumb position. I will be using these again.

8 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Didn't fit flute”

Reviewed by Dave, 10 years ago
Verified Purchase

The item arrived promptly and in good order. I bought it for a keyed wooden Irish flute not a Boehm flute. I thought there was a chance that it might not fit so it's not the vendor's fault. The barrels of all three of my wooden flutes are too thick for the device. So if you play Irish music on a simple-system flute don't buy this. I didn't send it back for a refund as it wasn't worth the hassle for such a small item.

I gave it the mid-range 3 star score as I never tried the device on a Boehm flute so can't say how it performs.

2 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Ok. Colour light pink, minor damage on arrival ”

Reviewed by Verity, 8 months ago
Verified Purchase

Does the job and helped my daughter.

It is light pink, not bold punk as expected.

Minor damage to the plastic with manufacturer process.

Quite expensive but specialist item.

Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Just made it easier”

Reviewed by John, 2 years ago
(Unverified Purchase)

This small item has made all the difference to me, I recommend it to you

Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Thumbport Flute Thumb Rest”

Reviewed by Jeannette, 1 year ago
Verified Purchase

I bought the thumbrest in the hope that it would help to relieve the pain due to arthritis in the lowest thumb joint on my right hand. Unfortunately I haven't found that it has helped with this problem.

Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Great find!”

Reviewed by Catherine, 4 months ago
Verified Purchase

Excellent simple piece of equipment that has vastly improved my daughters hold on her flute in one swift move. Great choice of colours to suit all tastes also.

Report abuse

2 out of 5 “I couldn't place it to help with my wrist tendonitis sadly ”

Reviewed by Carol, 3 months ago
Verified Purchase

It didn't help with my wrist tendonitis - much to awkward to help it

Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Expensive little bit of plastic but helpful in some circumstances”

Reviewed by Stewart, 1 year ago
Verified Purchase

Bought this on the advice of my pro flute teacher because her method of holding the flute is rather different to the norm. She is encouraging me to put my thumb under the key bar rather than under the main body. This is difficult for me as if makes the flute 'roll' away and therefore difficult for my left index finger. So, the thumb rest is a sort of half-way house for this. If I was holding the flute the standard method then I really don't think the gadget is of much advantage - note that I play trumpet in many orchestras plus a flute choir and NONE of the young, old or professionals bother with it.

It also, for me, does mean there is still too much forward roll pressure and so I am awaiting stock of the Bo-Pep finger rest to aid this.

Overall, an expensive 'gadget' and I'm not convinced by all the sales hype.

Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumbport Flute Thumb Rest”

Reviewed by Jacqui , 2 months ago
Verified Purchase

Bought as gift, very well received! Really helpful to playing, thank you.

Report abuse

Return to Product and Purchase