Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
**Royal Mail are currently experiencing delays with international shipments. If you require your order urgently please choose an alternative shipping option.**

Product Reviews: Thumbport Flute Thumb Rest

£15.00
£12.50 excluding VAT (UK Export and VAT Assisted Purchase price)

Return to Product and Purchase

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 (7 reviews)

5 out of 5 “The ultimate thumb rest”

Reviewed by HARRY, 8 years ago
Verified Purchase

This thumb rest has changed my life. After years of holding the flute as advised in books and articles, and experimenting with other makes of thumb rest, I find this one to be by far the best. Search is over at long last!

10 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Solexa Thumb Port”

Reviewed by Lisa, 9 years ago
Verified Purchase

I am very happy with this product. I am a professional orchestral musician and I started using the thumb port about 5 years ago. It has really helped my right hand to be more free and my pinky is not so stiff anymore. I am able to have better control over the flute as it feels comfortable to hold. I regularly order them for my beginner students as the flute is such an awkward instrument to hold in the beginning. They have all found them very useful.

9 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumbport advantage.”

Reviewed by GEOFFREY, 9 years ago
Verified Purchase

Being new to the flute, I purchased a Thumport hoping it would help me in holding the flute really steady.

It has done this to my absolute satisfaction, and I do not hesitate to recommend this item. It is very nicely made, and fits the flute perfectly.

9 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

4 out of 5 “First experience!”

Reviewed by Ruth, 9 years ago
Verified Purchase

I have recently bought these to use with some of the Primary students I teach. They loved the choice of colours. Many of the students found them helpful and gave a much more secure right thumb position which help with the instruments stability. Not all the students used them - notably those who already had a secure thumb position. I will be using these again.

8 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Didn't fit flute”

Reviewed by Dave, 9 years ago
Verified Purchase

The item arrived promptly and in good order. I bought it for a keyed wooden Irish flute not a Boehm flute. I thought there was a chance that it might not fit so it's not the vendor's fault. The barrels of all three of my wooden flutes are too thick for the device. So if you play Irish music on a simple-system flute don't buy this. I didn't send it back for a refund as it wasn't worth the hassle for such a small item.

I gave it the mid-range 3 star score as I never tried the device on a Boehm flute so can't say how it performs.

2 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Just made it easier”

Reviewed by John, 1 year ago
(Unverified Purchase)

This small item has made all the difference to me, I recommend it to you

Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Thumbport Flute Thumb Rest”

Reviewed by Jeannette, 6 months ago
Verified Purchase

I bought the thumbrest in the hope that it would help to relieve the pain due to arthritis in the lowest thumb joint on my right hand. Unfortunately I haven't found that it has helped with this problem.

Report abuse

Return to Product and Purchase