Call Us: 020 8662 8400

Share

Product Reviews: Fingerport Flute Finger Rest

£13.50

£11.25 exclusive of VAT (EU Export price)

Return to Product and Purchase

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 (11 reviews)

4 out of 5 “Perfect quality”

Reviewed by Ruta, 3 weeks ago
Verified Purchase

Great quality, do not scratch the flute, perfectly holds in place.
Not completely comfortable support for my thumb, but it's individual to each one. My thumb is straight and inflexible.

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Great products and service!”

Reviewed by Arley, 1 year ago
Verified Purchase

The accessory offers great comfort during practice with the flute.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

4 out of 5 “Great product”

Reviewed by Rachel, 1 year ago
Verified Purchase

I've been teaching for more years than I care to remember! I love the thumbport and the pinkieport comes a close second! These devices are great for sorting poor hand positions out, particularly for little hands, and help prevent students turning their flutes in, and covering too much of the embouchure hole with their bottom lip. The only reservation with the pinkieport is the ridge at the back, which is quite uncomfortable for some students. I have adapted some of them by shaving a bit off the edge to make it a bit less sharp. The material is nice and soft, though, unlike the hard plastic of the finger saddles I've used in the past.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

4 out of 5 “Fingerport Flute Finger Rest”

Reviewed by Rosie, 1 year ago
Verified Purchase

Keeps left hand stable and removes pressure from L.H first finger but eventually flute starts to rub again. Good for a short term solution (practising for an exam). Easy to fit and doesn't scratch the flute or coating. Doesn't quite sit/fit in the right place because there is a pad in the way... but would recommend if you are doing large amounts of practise at any one time

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “pinkieport”

Reviewed by Collin, 2 years ago
Verified Purchase

excellent product ...vital accessory which gave a solid and steady hold for the flute and thus assisted in retraining my fingers moving from a closed to an open holed flute

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

4 out of 5 “Good, but a bit slippy”

Reviewed by John, 3 years ago
Verified Purchase

Pros:
Doesn't harm the flute.
Helps position and keep your left hand in the same place.
Moves the index finger out from the flute just enough to avoid touching the C# key (which I was always doing).

Cons:
Strangely, the plastic is slightly slippy compared to the flute itself, so that the flute doesn't rest quite as easily on the index finger joint when using it.

Overall:
Definitely useful for a beginner like me, but not quite perfect.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Much comfier grip”

Reviewed by Andrew, 3 years ago
Verified Purchase

I'm using this as a left index finger cushion on my Trevor James 10 X III, which I've had a curved headjoint fitted to (I find a straight C flute too uncomfortable to hold for long).

On any flute, even a small one like a picollo or an Irish style Bb, I tend to make a dent in my left index finger, and it gets quite uncomfortable. The Pinkieport puts my hand in a more natural position, with the fingers more open, and because it's rubbery, it's also grippy, which means I don't feel the need to squeeze so hard. It's also slightly cushioned, as it's a little bit springy, so that helps too.

I also bought a Thumbport II for it, and that's good too - it helps stop the flute rolling, which is more of a problem with the offset weight of a curved headjoint. The Pinkieport is probably the biggest improvement for me though.

I'm really not a natural flute player but last night, I watched two professional flute players from the Halle Orchestra, from a side gallery, through a monocular (pocket telescope). I could see a lot of strain in their left hands, and the tendon for the index finger standing out in the back of their hands. I think they'd benefit from one of these too.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

3 out of 5 “Not for me”

Reviewed by Shirley, 3 years ago
Verified Purchase

I have 2 thumbports bought from here and I love them. Since the pinkieport comes from the same inventor, I wanted to give a try.

It is not easy to find the right spot when I first tried to install the pinkieport. It is intended for flutes with in-line G. But it extends the distance between my left ring finger (my ring finger is longer than index finger) to fully cover the open-hole flute key. My friend borrow mine to use on her offset closed hole flute and she feels more comfortable. I think it is very personal and depend on the length of fingers.

Try it on your flute before you buy.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Great!”

Reviewed by Lucia, 3 years ago
Verified Purchase

I am so happy with my purchase, good communication and service. About the pinkieport, it is very useful for me, I have already one but it is of my teacher, she recommend it me and now I feel more confortable and I have a better position my left hand.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Another useful gadget”

Reviewed by Susan, 3 years ago
Verified Purchase

Perhaps not as noticeable a difference as the Thumbport but it still contributed to a more comfortable grip and made longer practise more enjoyable.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Pinkieport flute finger rest.”

Reviewed by GEOFFREY, 5 years ago
Verified Purchase

Well produced 'steady' for flute player's left hand which fits the instrument perfectly.
I chose it as a trial to see if it would help me, along with a Thumbport. As it happens,
It seems that in my own case, that I do not really need a Pinkieport.

6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

Return to Product and Purchase