Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
**Royal Mail are currently experiencing delays with international shipments. If you require your order urgently please choose an alternative shipping option**

Product Reviews: Fingerport Flute Finger Rest

£15.00
£12.50 excluding VAT (UK Export and VAT Assisted Purchase price)

Return to Product and Purchase

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 (18 reviews)

5 out of 5 “Another useful gadget”

Reviewed by Susan, 8 years ago
Verified Purchase

Perhaps not as noticeable a difference as the Thumbport but it still contributed to a more comfortable grip and made longer practise more enjoyable.

6 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

4 out of 5 “Great product”

Reviewed by Rachel, 5 years ago
Verified Purchase

I've been teaching for more years than I care to remember! I love the thumbport and the pinkieport comes a close second! These devices are great for sorting poor hand positions out, particularly for little hands, and help prevent students turning their flutes in, and covering too much of the embouchure hole with their bottom lip. The only reservation with the pinkieport is the ridge at the back, which is quite uncomfortable for some students. I have adapted some of them by shaving a bit off the edge to make it a bit less sharp. The material is nice and soft, though, unlike the hard plastic of the finger saddles I've used in the past.

6 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Not for me”

Reviewed by Shirley, 7 years ago
Verified Purchase

I have 2 thumbports bought from here and I love them. Since the pinkieport comes from the same inventor, I wanted to give a try.

It is not easy to find the right spot when I first tried to install the pinkieport. It is intended for flutes with in-line G. But it extends the distance between my left ring finger (my ring finger is longer than index finger) to fully cover the open-hole flute key. My friend borrow mine to use on her offset closed hole flute and she feels more comfortable. I think it is very personal and depend on the length of fingers.

Try it on your flute before you buy.

4 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

4 out of 5 “Fingerport Flute Finger Rest”

Reviewed by Rosie, 5 years ago
Verified Purchase

Keeps left hand stable and removes pressure from L.H first finger but eventually flute starts to rub again. Good for a short term solution (practising for an exam). Easy to fit and doesn't scratch the flute or coating. Doesn't quite sit/fit in the right place because there is a pad in the way... but would recommend if you are doing large amounts of practise at any one time

4 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “help for fluting hands”

Reviewed by Mary, 4 years ago
Verified Purchase

This inexpensive attachment helps to keep left hands in a comfortable position. (The bore size of a flute is designed for the sound it emits, not the size of the hands controlling it.)
I also use a similar attachment for my right hand.
Neither has damaged the surface of my silver flute, and my hands feel really relaxed when playing.
Also the attachments don't need to be taken off each time you put your flute away.
There is just one size. I am a female adult. Maybe the size does not "fit all" but worth a try perhaps.

4 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Much comfier grip”

Reviewed by Andrew, 7 years ago
Verified Purchase

I'm using this as a left index finger cushion on my Trevor James 10 X III, which I've had a curved headjoint fitted to (I find a straight C flute too uncomfortable to hold for long).

On any flute, even a small one like a picollo or an Irish style Bb, I tend to make a dent in my left index finger, and it gets quite uncomfortable. The Pinkieport puts my hand in a more natural position, with the fingers more open, and because it's rubbery, it's also grippy, which means I don't feel the need to squeeze so hard. It's also slightly cushioned, as it's a little bit springy, so that helps too.

I also bought a Thumbport II for it, and that's good too - it helps stop the flute rolling, which is more of a problem with the offset weight of a curved headjoint. The Pinkieport is probably the biggest improvement for me though.

I'm really not a natural flute player but last night, I watched two professional flute players from the Halle Orchestra, from a side gallery, through a monocular (pocket telescope). I could see a lot of strain in their left hands, and the tendon for the index finger standing out in the back of their hands. I think they'd benefit from one of these too.

4 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Great!”

Reviewed by Lucia, 7 years ago
Verified Purchase

I am so happy with my purchase, good communication and service. About the pinkieport, it is very useful for me, I have already one but it is of my teacher, she recommend it me and now I feel more confortable and I have a better position my left hand.

3 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Great products and service!”

Reviewed by Arley, 5 years ago
Verified Purchase

The accessory offers great comfort during practice with the flute.

2 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Might be good for long fingers, but not for my short fingers.”

Reviewed by Steen , 3 years ago
Verified Purchase

It increases the difficulties of reaching and placing the thumb right on the key. And the flat part doesn't feel right, it's too big or too straight. But it's made well and fits the flute just fine, with any problem or damage to the flute

2 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

4 out of 5 “Good, but a bit slippy”

Reviewed by John, 7 years ago
Verified Purchase

Pros:
Doesn't harm the flute.
Helps position and keep your left hand in the same place.
Moves the index finger out from the flute just enough to avoid touching the C# key (which I was always doing).

Cons:
Strangely, the plastic is slightly slippy compared to the flute itself, so that the flute doesn't rest quite as easily on the index finger joint when using it.

Overall:
Definitely useful for a beginner like me, but not quite perfect.

1 person found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “pinkieport”

Reviewed by Collin, 7 years ago
Verified Purchase

excellent product ...vital accessory which gave a solid and steady hold for the flute and thus assisted in retraining my fingers moving from a closed to an open holed flute

1 person found this review helpful. Report abuse

4 out of 5 “Perfect quality”

Reviewed by Ruta, 4 years ago
Verified Purchase

Great quality, do not scratch the flute, perfectly holds in place.
Not completely comfortable support for my thumb, but it's individual to each one. My thumb is straight and inflexible.

Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Perfect”

Reviewed by Andrea Francesco, 9 months ago
Verified Purchase

I already knew the product. Very useful and great price.

Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Needs work.”

Reviewed by Christopher, 1 year ago
Verified Purchase

I was looking for greater stability particularly moving from D to C# and top G#. This helped a bit. I have in line G on a grenaditte flute. There was trouble fitting it which would not have been an issue on a metal flute. I have made some adaptations which have really done the job. If it wasn’t for these adaptations, I wouldn’t bother with it. It’s really worth buying if you’re happy to experiment and adapt.

Report abuse

4 out of 5 “Much more comfortable for my left hand!”

Reviewed by Christopher, 7 months ago
Verified Purchase

I have a lot of tendon problems and this finger rest has really helped. I get cramping in my hand very easily without some sort of spacer for my left hand. I've tried both models of bopep and this. I'm not 100% sure that I like this more than the bopep classic model yet, but I'm going to continue to give both a go until I come to a decision. I like the fact that this is flatter against my hand which aids in stability compared to the bopep which is rounded and allows the instrument to rock more. It's a bit fiddly with the C# trill key though and doesn't give me much in the way of adjustability as a result. I think this could probably be made a bit narrower to deal with that issue.

Report abuse

3 out of 5 “Remember its alias ”

Reviewed by Mark, 1 year ago
(Unverified Purchase)

I’ve been using one of these for several years now and would not be without it. However, to make it work for me I had to stick onto it an inch of half round wooden beading to get a curve; onto that, a strip of leather to get cushioning; and onto that, a piece of sandpaper to get friction.
It now spaces my fingers and grips my left index very satisfactorily. The best aspect of its original structure is that the clip has not much slackened off. So it still stays where I attach it – onto crepe masking tape also stuck to the flute for it to get a grip on.

Each to their own - if it works just as it is for you, well and good; but the fact that it was once called the Pinkieport is telling - I believe it was originally marketed with a view to providing a ledge for the left pinky to rest on in any off-duty moments. Whether on closed or open G sharp flutes, that’s a less than convincing scenario.

But it’s apparently still that product, unaltered except in name. If you find it doesn’t readily accommodate your left index, this could be the explanation.

Report abuse

2 out of 5 “Very Difficult To Get In The Right Position”

Reviewed by Clare-Louise, 2 months ago
(Unverified Purchase)

Thought this would be good for a student with small hands. Was ridiculously difficult to get it in the correct position for them without impeding the C key or thumb key. Would not recommend for players with small hands.

Report abuse

4 out of 5 “Fingerport for flute ”

Reviewed by Miriam, 1 year ago
Verified Purchase

I bought this to try and help me with positioning to my left finger. Unfortunately this hasn’t helped as where I need to put it it gets caught up with the key work. I have small hands and I think this is the reason. It won’t suit everybody but those who can make it work I’m sure it will be helpful. I was disappointed but to help me it needed to be smaller so I had to return it.

Report abuse

Return to Product and Purchase