Call Us: 020 8662 8400

Share

Product Reviews: Thumbport II Flute Thumb Rest

£13.50

Price excluding VAT (EU Export price): £11.25

Return to Product and Purchase

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 (25 reviews)

5 out of 5 “Thumbport II - well worth a try”

Reviewed by Andy, 8 months ago
Verified Purchase

As a sax player, the right hand balance for the flute has always felt a bit strange, but the Thumbport II has made this feel more natural and comfortable and reduce right hand tension. I've fitted this to a Yamaha 211, and am able to leave it in place when the flute is put away in its case which is a bonus. I would recommend this to anyone who finds the right hand uncomfortable when playing the flute for a period of time.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumbs up for Thumbport ”

Reviewed by Kate, 8 months ago
Verified Purchase

I watched the you tube clip of Thumbport being demonstrated and suggested a pupil try it out due to constant issues with the flute rolling for her.
After she tried it and really noticed the difference I decided to buy one for my son also. He's not too bothered by it but I think it provides a constant position and therefore constant clarity of tone.
I borrowed it and tried it out both ways (you can flip it round depending on preference) and got on brilliantly with it also.
Great little gadget and perfect for beginners to ensure prefect grip, position and consistency in tone.

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumbport II”

Reviewed by Lee, 10 months ago
Verified Purchase

Bought this little gadget after seeing a promotion for it on YouTube! I was a tad sceptical at first but it really has helped me with a repetitive right wrist injury. I find I am now able to practice for a longer period now which is always beneficial. A great little item and again excellent customer service from Just Flutes!

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “A small item and a great result”

Reviewed by Uberto, 10 months ago
Verified Purchase

Most flute manuals and teachers teach the wrong way to hold the flute. They think that the right hand thumb should be placed UNDER the flute. This is not the case. The RH thumb must push the flute forward of course.
Teaching this from scretch is relatively easy but to correct a wrong posture is much more difficult.
Here comes the brilliant ThumbPort that will help students and flutists in general the correct posture of the RH freeing the fingers for a more fluid tecnique and improving their command over the embouchure-lipplate relationship.
Highly recommended!

Uberto Orlando, London

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

4 out of 5 “Good product for relieving wrist/thumb pain”

Reviewed by Rebecca, 1 year ago
Verified Purchase

I am an adult beginner with RSI in my right thumb and wrist. The Thumbport II has helped to relieve recurrent pain in my right wrist and thumb by creating better contact and support between my thumb and the flute. I also find I am less tense when playing fast passages that run between C, D and E because the flute feels better supported and more balanced. I docked one star because I cannot fit my flute in its case with the Thumbport II attached, despite this being an advertised improvement to the new model.

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Excellent help to improve pupils hand position”

Reviewed by Clemency, 2 years ago
Verified Purchase

I have many pupils who struggle to have their right thumb under the flute and therefore can't move their right hand so well. Often the thumb sticking out beyond the flute also leads to / causes 'banana fingers'. With Thumbport II in place, the entire hand position improves once they get their head around the need to change!

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Excellent invention”

Reviewed by Catherine, 2 years ago
Verified Purchase

I've been playing for ages but this little gadget has been a revelation. I only used it for a couple of weeks before a more natural hand position became the norm. It has been wonderful for some of my students who have found the Thumbport useful in understanding how relaxed the right hand should be.

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Well worth the money!”

Reviewed by Ellen, 2 years ago
Verified Purchase

This has made supporting the flute so much more comfortable and my flute teacher and I noticed an almost immediate improvement in my playing.

It is also small enough to stay in position on the flute when I put it away in the case.

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “thumb rest”

Reviewed by Collin, 2 years ago
Verified Purchase

Most useful accessory which gives a comfortable and stead hold for the flute and thus assisted in helping me retrain my fingers when converting from a closed to open hole flute

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Well made & worth experimenting with”

Reviewed by Peter, 2 years ago
Verified Purchase

Very well made gadget - very quick to add and remove. Its too narrow to fit on any of my wooden flutes, but works on the gold and silver.

I think its really useful to explore different hand positions. We all have different hand sizes and shapes, and there are a variety of ways to adjust holding the flute. Using the thumbport for the right hand allows flexible experimentation with different approaches in regards to the position and angle/direction of force of the right thumb and the knock on effects on your right hand fingers, left hand and lip.

I think if you naturally place your thumb under the flute and take some weight (possibly experiencing some "rolling-in" of the flute), this allows you to comfortably try a position where you push the flute more from the side. I know a couple of flute players for whom this position has eased considerably right hand tension and tendon/arthritis issues.

For me personally, with very large hands, this is one of the only comfortable ways to try this RH position - though the effect on my left hand is pronounced and not so comfortable without some adjustment there also.

I would only advise doing this if you are going to really think about the effect and adjust accordingly, and work with your teacher to make sure you are not introducing long-term physical issues or bad technique.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Flute Thumbport II Recommended”

Reviewed by Catherine, 3 years ago
Verified Purchase

The Thumbport II design is a big improvement on the previous one, as it remains lodged in place when playing and does not need to be removed when your flute is packed away in its box.

I can't fault it!

10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Very Useful!”

Reviewed by Susan, 3 years ago
Verified Purchase

I get a sore and crampy pinky from playing the flute but this thumbport makes a huge difference. The flute feels more balanced with less of the work falling to my little finger. Slips on and off the flute easily and doesn't scratch or harm the finish on the instrument.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “A Whizzy-Wonderful Widget”

Reviewed by Susan , 3 years ago
Verified Purchase

As a "mature" beginner with a pre-existing problem with RSI in my hands I found using my little finger to help to balance the flute set off the stress pains and it was clear that I either had to find a solution or stop playing the flute. This little thumb-rest slips onto the flute and the "tail" sticks out at the side and rests along the shank of your thumb - Instant stability and no more pain. Whether in the long term it would have a detrimental effect on one's ability to play at speed I don't know; but as I am unlikely to offer a challenge to Sir James Galway, at least in this lifetime I'm not too worried. It gets me where I want to be - playing the flute! I have already recommended the Thumbport to a friend with a similar problem.

16 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumbport unlocked my pinky!”

Reviewed by Johnathan, 4 years ago
Verified Purchase

the thumbport has been fantastic at unlocking my pinky and improved my plkaying no end

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “The ultimate thumb rest”

Reviewed by HARRY, 4 years ago
Verified Purchase

I bought this having already bought the original Thumbport Flute Thumb Rest.
I find little difference between the two but it fits my Db flute and that is where it is now serving me very well.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumbport II Thumb Rest is comfortable”

Reviewed by Shirley, 4 years ago
Verified Purchase

I am concerned about my right hand position lately. After doing some research on internet, I recently got both Thumbport and Thumbport II. I practiced with Thumbport flute thumb rest for a week then I got the Thumbport II just 2 days ago. I find the Thumbport II more comfortable though Thumbport is also good. I have no regrets to buy the Thumbport II even though the postage is nearly half the cost of this gadget. :)

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumb port II flute thumb rest”

Reviewed by WIlliam, 4 years ago
Verified Purchase

My flute playing has become much more comfortable since using the thumb port. Prevents the instrument from rolling.

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “A real help!”

Reviewed by Alison, 5 years ago
Verified Purchase

I am an advanced student and find this extremely useful and now find it hard to play without it. It gives my flute much greater stability, particularly when playing the top A, B and C. I have quite small hands, and have found that my right hand now has a much better position over the keys, also over the open keys of my flute for when I unplug them. I also tried the Thumbport Flute Thumb Rest but can't tell much difference between them.

10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumbport Rlute Thumb rest”

Reviewed by Lynda, 5 years ago
Verified Purchase

This is a great product, very comfortable and as I have very small hand it lifts my hand up enough to remove any strain.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumb Rest -Thumbport”

Reviewed by Estee, 5 years ago
Verified Purchase

I brought one of these to help with grip-support for my right hand, once positioned totally Fab little gadget I found it really did help I'm total bigginer and I would recommend this to anyone

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “A useful aid”

Reviewed by H, 5 years ago
Verified Purchase

I am an adult learner and also bought the bo pep flute finger rest to aid my adult less flexible fingers. These two items have been a great help in relaxing my hand hold and position on the flute.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Thumbport”

Reviewed by Leah, 5 years ago
Verified Purchase

Best flute accessory I ever bought!

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

3 out of 5 “Great but expensive...”

Reviewed by Robert, 6 years ago
Verified Purchase

When my thumb kept creeping up my flute I decided to invest in a thumb rest. I researched a variety of thumb rests before deciding to go for this one. It is literally what it looks like... a piece of plastic. It's very expensive for what it is but it does the job and I have had no problems with it sliding around! It also fits in my flute case which is a plus!

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

5 out of 5 “Great for a relaxed, comfortable and correct hand position”

Reviewed by Jennie, 6 years ago
Verified Purchase

I was recommended the thumb port by another player and teacher at a workshop I attended. They are almost impossible to buy in Australia, so I ordered one and tried it out. Now I won't play without it! I use it with most of my students - beginners to advanced players - and they love it too. It helps to create the three-point-hold that makes for good hand position and balance. I've found that I can play difficult passages much more easily, and have a lot more control. I can also play for longer periods without becoming fatigued. Such a simple thing, but works wonders!

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

4 out of 5 “Thumbport is a great teaching aid!”

Reviewed by Sandra, 6 years ago
Verified Purchase

I'm happy to have found this - it is very helpful for young beginners in that stage when they don't have a comfortable grasp on the instrument and that right thumb slides up around the flute. Such a simple device which gives them a solid grip and hence a good right hand position. Only downside, in my opinion, is the price! Especially for a product 'made in China'. Why can't this be produced here, at a more affordable price?

Was this review helpful?Yes NoReport abuse

Return to Product and Purchase