Please note that we will be closed on 2nd and 3rd March due to stock take.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Silver Strand for Two Flutes and Piano


  • Interesting, worth a look

Pan - Journal of the British Flute Society

This review first appeared in Pan, the journal of the British Flute Society and is reproduced with permission. Join the BFS: membership starts from £20 a year.

This is a seven-minute piece for two flutes and piano by Baltimore-born composer Russell Scarbrough.  First performed at the NFA Convention in 2016, the opening makes extensive use of repeated rhythmic patterns to set up a groove.  The flutes begin in unison, and gradually drift apart, first in pitch and then in rhythm.  In some ways, this brings to mind the minimalist style of Reich's Vermont Counterpoint or Glass's Piece in the Shape of a Square, but Scarbrough uses the rhythms to set up a set of variations, rather than using strict phasing processes.  The piano adds to the rhythmic energy providing jazz-inflicted harmonies, syncopations and balancing the high flutes with a strong bass.  This piece is not without its challenges, but is excellent practice for rhythmic precision and setting up a reliable pulse.  With two equally matched players, this piece is effective and fun.

Carla Rees

From the Publisher

Rhythmically exciting with intricate counterpoint and a propelling groove, Silver Strand weaves a horizontal thread that is lyrically beautiful and full of suspense. The 7-minute work may be heard as a string of dance variations with intensity and texture flowing as the title suggests. Silver Strand was composed for Kathryn Scarbrough and Tereasa Payne who premiered the work at the 2016 NFA convention in San Diego, just a mile east of the Silver Strand Beachfront on Coronado Island.

Performance duration (approx): 7'00

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Piano
Category: Music for Two Flutes And Piano
Publisher: Falls House Press
Publisher's reference: FH0505
Our Stock Code: 1440126
Media Type: Paperback (15 pages [score])