Please note that we will be closed for stock taking on 18-19 March.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Quartet 'Emperor Quartet', Op76/3


From the Publisher

Saxophone Quartet SATB. One of Haydn's last string quartets arranged for saxophone quartet - the height of elegant and sophisticated writing for a small group of instruments. It takes its name from the second movement, in which Haydn uses the anthem 'God Save Emperor Francis' (which he wrote for Emperor Francis II) as the theme for a set of variations. This tune later became the German National Anthem, and is also well known as the melody for the hymn 'Glorious Things Of Thee Are Spoken'. In four movements, the first and last of which are extended compositions in sonata form. The second movement is the set of variations mentioned above, in which each instrument takes a turn at stating the tune, while the other instruments weave their variations round it. The third movement is a boisterous Minuett. An extended work, requiring neat playing from all musicians. The soprano part is particularly challenging, requiring nimble fingering and some rapid tonguing. The minuet and trio is easier but still rewarding. A chance for a sax quartet to try music from a different historical period.
Difficulty guide: 0-4
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details

Category: Saxophone Quartet Music
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM135
Our Stock Code: 1409147
Media Type: Paperback