Please note our Christmas Opening Hours
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


The Hourglass


From the Publisher

The Hourglass is a piece cast in four movements. It draws its inspiration from the myth and legend of the romantic ruined fortress of Tintagel on the Cornish coast. Musically speaking the four movements are mainly tonal in character with a slight undercurrent of a melancholic longing which ebbs and flows as the music progresses. Rhythmically the music has a certain syncopated feel, which adds elements of apprehension, excitement and anticipation to the musical discourse.

Difficulty guide: 7
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Alto Flute or Flute
Category: Unaccompanied Alto Flute Music
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM394
Our Stock Code: 1363128
Media Type: Paperback