Please note our Christmas Opening Hours and Last Posting Dates
Call Us: 020 8662 8400




From the Publisher

These short pieces take their titles from some of the Cut-Outs of Matisse. Each piece is an exploration of melodic lines, and their ability to create harmonic 'images'. Two Dancers is a fast and virtuosic piece that mirrors the dynamic figures in the Matisse Cut-Out, and its joyful arabesques and angular leaps are suggestive of the dancers' gestures. Icarus is a slow movement in which the music gradually becomes more agitated and rises to a climax before falling away again. The last piece, The Parakeet and the Mermaid, is a bright and colourful interweaving of motivic patterns that brings the set to a sparkling conclusion.
Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details

Category: Alto Saxophone Repertoire
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM630
Our Stock Code: 1410969
Media Type: Paperback