Please note that we will be closed for stock taking on 18-19 March.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Five Occasional Pieces


Staff Pick

“Lovely Dodgson - good for recitals”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member -

These five short pieces by the late Stephen Dodgon were written in 1990 for the American flute player Robert Stallman. Enigmatic and evocative, the style is wistful even in the more rhythmic moments. The opening Andante has a haunting melody, while the Agitiato Capriccioso alternates fast and slow sections. An energetic Vivace with changing metre is followed by another lovely slow movement and it's all rounded off with an exciting Allegro. Each movement would stand alone but the overall performance time is 16 minutes. This makes it a really good recital option.

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Contemporary Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Emerson Edition
Publisher's reference: E505
Our Stock Code: 1348248
Media Type: Paperback