We are running our mail order service with a very small team.
Please allow extra time for us to handle your order, and contact us by email rather than phone as we cannot handle large call volumes. Thank you.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Sinfonia I


From the Publisher

This is the first of a series of 13 String Symphonies (sometimes labelled 'Sinfonia') that were composed by Mendelssohn in his early teens. It has been arranged for flute quartet/quintet. Remarkably, these pieces were undiscovered until the early 1960's. This earliest symphony shows his rigorous training in Bach counterpoint and chorale harmonies, but still has pointers toward his own individual style that was to develop throughout his lifetime. It follows the standard three movement form.

Difficulty guide: 5
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details

Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM653
Our Stock Code: 1413083
Media Type: Paperback