Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Complete Sonatas for Keyboard, Vol 2


From the Publisher

  • First complete scholarly-critical edition
  • Three previously unpublished sonatas
  • Trilingual Foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger) and Critical Commentary (Eng)
  • Easy to play and suitable for teaching purposes

The Czech composer František Xaver Dušek (1731–1799) was a leading figure in Prague musical life in the latter half of the 18th century.  He was an outstanding pianist, composer and piano teacher whose pupils included Leopold Koželuch.

This edition in two volumes contains all 23 of his surviving piano sonatas, many of which were previously accessible only in old prints or manuscripts. They are presented in chronological order by publication date and are all of easy technical difficulty. A Commentary by the editor offers useful tips on performance practice.

Volume II contains sonatas left unpublished in Dušek’s lifetime and preserved in manuscript form. Three of them appear here for the first time.

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piano
Category: Piano Repertoire
Publisher: Bärenreiter - Urtext
Publisher's reference: BA11514
Our Stock Code: 1397598
Media Type: Paperback (83 pages [score])