Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Capriccio for Piano Left Hand and Wind Ensemble


  • Highly recommended
  • Worth the high price tag

Our Description

Janacek's Capriccio for piano left hand and wind ensemble came into being during the autumn of 1926 thanks to the efforts of the pianist Otakar Hollmann.  Hollmann, who could only play the piano with his left hand due to an injury, asked the composer to write him a concert piece.  In a fundamental way he thus predetermined the genesis and form of a work which, as far as instrumentation is concerned, may be considered one of the most audacious compositions of the height of the composer's creative career.


  • Flute/ Piccolo
  • 2 Trumpets in C
  • Tenor Tuba in Bb
  • Horn in F
  • 3 Trombones
  • Piano Left Hand
Performance duration (approx): 20 minutes
Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • I. Allegro
  • II. Adagio
  • III. Allegretto
  • IV. Andante

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piano
  • Part 2: Flute doubling on Piccolo
  • Part 3: D Trumpet
  • Part 4: D Trumpet
  • Part 5: Tuba or French Horn Trombone
Category: Music for Wind Group With Piano
Publisher: Bärenreiter - Urtext
Publisher's reference: BA9535
Our Stock Code: 1013740
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (54 pages [score])

Free Beaumont Polishing Cloth with every order over £50 Free Beaumont Polishing Cloth with every order over £50