Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** We will be closed 20-24 March for our annual stock take **

Concerto for Oboe and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
Product image coming soon

From the Publisher

Peteris Vasks composed his Oboe Concerto in commemoration of the centenary of Latvian independence, and so the work became a hymn to his native country, its nature and its people, while simultaneously fulfilling Albrecht Mayer’s long-standing wish for an oboe concerto.

The concerto is bookended by two pastoral movements: in the first – a morning nature scene – the oboe unfolds in extended cantilena passages above string tremolos and birdsong motifs in the woodwind. The dramatic atmosphere of the contrasting central movement, with its fiery folk dances, arioso passages and extended cadenza, gradually flows into the peaceful ‘evening pastoral scene’, mirroring the beginning of the work.

Item Details


  • Part 1: Oboe
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Oboe Repertoire
Publisher: Schott
Publisher's reference: ED 23365
Our Stock Code: 1580358
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts

20% off Edition Peters20% off Edition Peters

20% off Alry Publications20% off Alry Publications