Please note that we will be closed for stock taking on 18-19 March.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Product image coming soon

The School Recorder Book of Carols

Arranged by Leslie Winters


Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM exam syllabus
Difficulty guide: 1-3
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Hark the Glad Sound
  • Once In Royal David's City
  • O Come, All Ye Faithful
  • Quem Pastores Laudavere
  • A Child This Day Is Born
  • Away in a Manger
  • O Little Town of Bethlehem
  • The Greatness of God
  • Cheer Up, Friends & Neighbours
  • Now Glad of Hearts be Everyone
  • Lift Your Hidden Faces
  • My Dancing Day
  • Fields of Corn, Give up Your Ears

'The following different arrangements are possible:

Solo or unison descants, with accompaniment

Descant 1 and Piano

Duet or two-part arrangement

Descant 1/ Tenor 2 (two groups of descants may play this version)
Descant 1/ Treble 2 (two groups of descants may also play this version, giving a counter-melody above the tune)

Trio or three-part arrangement

Descant 1/ Treble 2 or Tenor 1/ Tenor 2

Descant 1/ Descant 2 or Treble 1/ Treble 2 (a satisfactory arrangement when there are no tenors, but Treble 2 should play the small alternative notes)

Quartet or full SATB arrangement

Descant 1/ Descant 2 or Treble 1/ Treble 2 or Tenor 1/ Tenor 2 (if there is a bass recorder it may read from the lowest line of the piano part - stems going down)

The pianoforte has the same basic harmony as all the above arrangements and may be played with any of them if desired....'
Leslie Winters

Item Details

Category: Recorder Ensemble Music
Publisher: EJA Publications
Publisher's reference: EJ10018
Our Stock Code: 1107685
Media Type: Paperback