Please note that we will be closed for stock taking on 18-19 March.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Product image coming soon

Jam Quartet


From the Publisher

Máté Balogh (born 1990) studied with Zoltán Jeney at the Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest, and later he attended the master classes of Fabio Nieder, Péter Eötvös, Christian Wolff, and Louis Andriessen. His compositions have featured in the programs of prestigious festivals. In 2013 he was one of the winners of the chamber opera workshop organized by the Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation and, in addition, has been awarded prizes by the European Composer and Songwriter Alliance, the Fondazione Spinola Banna per l’Arte, and the New Hungarian Musical Forum. Jam Quartet was written in the summer of 2016. Its form and declamation evoke improvising jazz-musicians, reflecting the so-called jam session . The individual instruments play both the melody and the accompaniment at different times; even the triangle has its own solo. The piece is dedicated to THReNSeMBle, and it was premiered by that ensemble on 16 November 2016 in Budapest, at the closing concert of the international masterclass for com- posers directed by Toshio Hosokawa and Péter Eötvös. The composition was awarded a special price by the GENERACE competition in Ostrava.

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details

Category: Music for Flute and Other Percussion
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest
Publisher's reference: Z15075
Our Stock Code: 1434026
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (12 pages [score])