Call Us: 020 8662 8400


4 Strings - Discover Book 1 Includes accompaniment CD

Edited by Liz Partridge


From the Publisher

Three progressive collections of contemporary string quartet repertoire from leading composers to encourage and facilitate the development of ensemble playing. Compiled and edited by Liz Partridge, each volume contains graded works commissioned especially for this series designed for quartets formed of players of similar ability. Featuring a mixture of musical styles and genres, each piece contains different elements and techniques to consolidate and enhance the players’ skills as soloists and as ensemble members.

An accompanying CD provides demonstration recordings of all included pieces. Minus-one tracks are available to download online to allow for individual practice between rehearsals.

Many of the quartets have been expanded for optional use as string orchestra repertoire. Augmented scores and parts are available to purchase and download online.

Contemporary string quartet repertoire for new and developing ensembles
An introduction to quartet ensemble playing for string players of grade 1-3 standard. Familiar keys, common rhythms and transparent musical forms ensure the short pieces and miniatures featured within Discover are accessible to all. Emphasis is firmly focussed on playing together as a unit.

Contemporary string quartet repertoire for flourishing ensembles
Music for players of grade 4-5 standard with some ensemble playing experience. Featuring expanded key selections, more complex rhythms and simple introductions to extended techniques.

Contemporary string quartet repertoire for established ensembles
Captivating contemporary concert repertoire for established quartets of grade 6-8 standard. Compositions are more pioneering in style and feature greater independence of parts and increased incorporation of extended techniques.

Difficulty guide: 1-3
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Mortimer: Intergalactic Messaging
  • Mortimer: Sleepy
  • Sawyers: Copy Cats
  • Scolding: Clifton Bridge
  • Hewitt Jones: Ghost Train
  • Kershaw: Catch Me If You Can
  • Kershaw: Lullaby for Lilah
  • Norton: A Relaxed Mood
  • K. & H. Colledge: Stargazing

Item Details


  • Part 1: Violin
  • Part 2: Violin
  • Part 3: Viola
  • Part 4: Cello
Category: String Quartet Music
Publisher: Boosey and Hawkes
Publisher's reference: BH13375
Part of the 4 Strings series
Our Stock Code: 1401400
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (36 pages [score]); includes accompaniment CD